Driver Awareness:

Driver Awareness Training: July 24th 2012

1 JOHN 1: 9 ‘ If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.’

In 2008 I started working in the Revelation TV studios in New Malden, this was a wonderful opportunity for me but it also meant a long two-hour journey for me along a notorious road the A3!!

I was driving a BMW 5 series at the times, and I tell you the truth when I say it is an amazing smooth and quiet car with LOTS!! Of power; consequently I found myself cruising along often at 90 / 100 MPH, Yikes!!
I was soon feeling so confident with my driving skills that unfortunately I often found myself breaking the speed limit of 70 MPH.

Now as a Christian I fully believed that God saw everything I did, including driving over the limit, sometimes I would say a half-hearted prayer….sorry Lord. Oftentimes there would be an accident on the road which would hold up traffic for seemingly ages. Now in the past (as a passenger) I would have little sympathy or be able to empathise with road rage and rude drivers, now however I was seeing a different side of myself!! I often got impatient and cross!! I could now flash my lights and beep at other drivers who I perceived to be in the wrong lane!! Often I could just get through those annoying amber lights. I had always hated overtaking in the third lane, suddenly I was in the third lane at 90 MPH zooming to meet a deadline; I was on such a mission in 2009 when speeding to get to a bank on a Saturday before closing time, completely unaware that I was driving at 45 MPH in a 30 mile zone a police man suddenly stood in the middle of the road. What happened next was frightening, as I was fleeced and given the third degree!! This all resulted in a fine and three points on my license now in my heart as a Christian I knew that God saw all this bad behaviour, I knew I deserved those three points.

I really did try to abide by the rules of the road however, I did own a BMW 5 series with lots of power and as smooth as a baby, those amber lights were still as annoying.

Now fast forward 3 years, one morning a summons dropped through my letter box, I knew my wakeup call had arrived. Within days I was booked onto a driver awareness course and short of £85.

The course:

I have to say that despite the recent bad weather in England the day turned out to be a bit of a sudden heat wave. The Hotel function room was air-conditioned, a good start and the two presiding police officers were passionate agreeable and funny, is that possible? Yes.

It was obvious from the start that these police officers had witnessed many accidents and fatalities and that they had also had the unwelcome task of telling distraught relatives of fatalities. I recognised they had a passion to change hearts minds and lives; it was the same passion that I too had to change lives and make people aware of the pitfalls and dangers in life as a Christian and follower of Jesus Christ.

I also felt very convicted by the Holy Spirit that I had been acting thoughtlessly and even foolishly; it really was time for repentance.
Last year I had felt compelled by God to ‘Give away the BMW.’ In its place I was overjoyed to receive a Peugeot 206cc, and you can actually take off the roof!! And thankfully it was not as smooth as a baby with lots of power!! Now I was on my way home, roof down, very aware of all the speed limits and road signs, enjoying the wonderful summer sunshine; suddenly a memory came, I had actually starting learning to drive, and passed my test when I was 27. Recently I have discovered that 27 is a very significant date in my life. If you would like to read more on that please go to my Blog post ‘Morecambe Bay’ God is faithful, God can be trusted.

Leave a Reply

