Gideons Fleece:

Have you ever felt you heard ‘God’ ask you to do something so outrageous you felt you needed a sign, Have you ever thought ‘Help’ I can’t do that. Then don’t worry, you are definitely not alone, Read a little of Gideon’s story.
 Judges 6: 11 Now the Angel of the Lord came and sat under the terebinth tree which was in Ophrah which belonged to Joash the abiezrie, while his son threshed the wheat in the winepress, in order to hide it from the Midianites. 12: And the Angel of the Lord appeared to him, and said to him, 2The lord is with you mighty man of valour!” 13: Gideon said to him, “Oh my Lord, if the Lord is with us why then has all this happened to us? And where are all the Miracles our fathers told us about, saying, ‘Did not the Lord bring us from Egypt?’ But now the Lord has forsaken us and delivered us into the hand of the midianites.” 14: Then the Lord turned to him and said, “Go in this might of yours, and you shall save Israel from the hand of the Midianites. Have I not sent you?”15: So he said to him, “Oh my Lord, how can I save Israel? Indeed my clan is the weakest in Manasseh, and I am the least in my father’s house.” 16: And the Lord said to him, “Surely I will be with you, and you shall defeat the Midianites as one man.”17: Then he said to him, “If now I have found favour in your sight, then show me a sign that it is you who talk with me.”
Gideon a young man was praying and meditating on a sad fact, his people were being ruled by another stronger and larger ‘Clan’ He was saying Lord why? What about all those stories our fathers told us about miracles, being delivered from the Egyptians ….going into the promised land, what about those days?
 He heard God say to him that he was going to deliver his country Israel through his hand, Can you imagine how he must have felt; scared is that really you Lord, did you say me!!? He wanted to see a sign, confirmation that he had heard correctly. The story tells us that Gideon went and offered a sacrifice to God, then he became fearful yet again, but he heard the Lord say to him “Don’t be afraid, peace be with you”
Then he heard God give him another terrifying command,”tear down all the idols of Baal” Wow he was so frightened he could only do it in the dark during the night when his father and all the men of the city were sleeping; however his act of obedience to God was discovered the next day and the men of the city began calling for his ‘blood’ Finally we read that Gideon wanted yet another sign was it really God telling him he was going to ‘Save his country’ So Gideon wanted yet another sign, he put out his fleece.
How many of us feel very strongly about certain issues, we pray and seek God very earnestly, how many times do we think ‘Was that really God telling me to do this or that’ when we have a deep thought or hear that still small voice? Then Let us be encouraged by Gideon’s story, Gideon put out a fleece!! And so did I.
I went to great pains to move a ‘clock from one place to another’ When I achieved my goal the clock stopped working, the small hand became detached from the main workings and try as I might I could not repair it. Oh dear I started to feel afraid, did I hear God correctly? Was I in the correct place? Suddenly I had a great idea, ‘I too would put out a fleece!!’ just as Gideon had done.
So I prayed a bold prayer: “Lord if I am in the right place doing what you have asked of me (even though to me it seems outrageous) please make the clock work again” I came down the next morning full of anticipation I was sure the ‘clock’ would have supernaturally been fixed!! But I was disappointed. Have you ever been disappointed and so tempted to doubt God? The Bible teaches us that ‘God’s thoughts and his ways are not like ours’ Isaiah 55:8 For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the LORD.
Every day for the next few days I looked at the clock! It never worked, finally I decided this fleece business hasn’t worked for me, maybe I am not in the right place, maybe that word from the Lord was not right maybe it was ‘outrageous’ I gave up on the clock, finally I asked somebody to look at it for me and guess what?!! The clock is now working, it was fixable!! I took this as a definite answer to my ‘Fleece’ Yes I was in God’s perfect will. Now to move forward (like Gideon) with mission impossible!!

Leave a Reply

