Paying Taxes:

beach pic
Paying Taxes:
Proverbs 22: V 26 – 27: Matthew 17: V 27

Proverbs: 26: V26-27 do not be one who shakes hands in pledge or puts up security for debts; 27 If you lack the means to pay, your very bed will be snatched from under you.
A deep peace washed over me as I entered the house of my father-in-Law, Gerry’s mum Maudie had died the previous evening. Nothing would be the same again, end of an era.
Five years on and life was still evolving, our youngest son a lively five year old, our eldest a grown up twenty two and beginning 4 years at Brighton university (Paid for by us). After five years my Father-in-Law was slowly giving up, his business had disintegrated and he had stopped paying his taxes! Disaster loomed dark on the horizon.
Gerry was enthusiastic, we would help his father ( We would pay his back Taxes) unfortunately for me Gerry had nothing to do with ‘Household management’ which included budgeting for a family of 7 a large house (with Mortgage) please insert your own imaginations at this point!!
And so we (I) began to send money we could not afford to the Tax office!
A wave of joy swept over me as I entered my friends house, excited chatter hung heavy in the air as everyone anticipated our weekly ‘Ladies Prayer meeting’ The smell of Kenco coffee wafted from the kitchen area as I grabbed a cup and settled down in Lydia’s cosy conservatory; a shaft of light caught the glass paper weight holding down our weekly Bible Notes as a beautiful rainbow arched across the floor. “We begin today with ‘Proverbs 22’ “said our leader, a soft rustle ensued as we all flicked the pages of our Bibles to the appointed page.
I burst into tears, we had reached verse 26! Out poured the whole sad story, the ladies were sympathetic but firm, you should not make yourself responsible for somebody else’s debt. I argued my case (after all this was ‘family’) not one lady backed down this was God’s word our manual for correct living, guidance for everyday life, the ladies prayed fervently for me.
Later that week the phone rang! It was the Tax office, where was my monthly payment? I burst into tears. Desperately I tried to compose my- self, finally a very kind man asked me to explain the situation which I did then ended the conversation.
Later that same day another call from the Tax Office; “Don’t worry Madame”, a kind voice said, “Your debts have been written off”. Listen to what Jesus said concerning paying his and Peter’s Taxes.
Matthew: 17: V 27……… “But so that we may not cause offense, go to the lake and throw out your line. Take the first fish you catch; open its mouth and you will find a four-drachma coin. Take it and give it to them for my tax and yours.”
I hear you sigh!! Please don’t scoff, God did a Miracle for me that day, and God has no favourites; if you are desperate or in need cry out to Jesus Christ, he will help you too.
Word Count: 529

2 responses to “Paying Taxes:

Leave a Reply

